Press Release

Contact: Terry Epp
Canadian Association of RallySport
Tel: 905-640-6444
  Date: January 16, 2007


Canadian Rally Championship Award Ceremony 1957-2007: Celebrating 50 Years of History!

Toronto, Ontario – The Canadian Rally Championship celebrated this past weekend its 50th birthday. This unique moment in the Canadian world of motorsports brought together more than 200 people around 32 of the champions who brought visibility to this discipline often considered the most spectacular of all motorsports.

Champion overall driver 2006 Quebecker Antoine L’Estage, from Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, received his award from John Bird, who has won this very same trophy in 1963, 1964 and 1965, the oldest champion presenting the trophy to the youngest. The other winners 2006 are: Ole Holter, overall co-driver, Nathalie Richard (Ladies Cup), Maxime Labrie (rookie of the year and Group 2 driver), Jean-François Guité (Group 2 co-driver), Zbigniew Szewczyk (Group 5 driver), Tomasz Karzynski (Group 5 co-driver), Norm LeBlanc (Production 4 driver), Keith Morison (Production 4 co-driver), Frank Sprongl (Production 2 driver), Nancy Beaulieu (Production 2 co-driver), Christian Gagné (Production 1 driver), and Jérôme Sanfaçon (Production 1 co-driver). On the manufacturers’ side, winners are: Hyundai (Marques’ title and Open Class), Subaru (Production 4 and 1), Suzuki (Production 2), Honda (Group 2) and Mitsubishi (Group 5).

During this weekend of celebrations, movies were shown and symposiums were held in order for the public to re-live rally events and ambiance from the ‘50s to today. More good news came from two of the partners of the Canadian Rally Championship. TV producer ATV has confirmed agreement renewal for the broadcasting of CRC events until 2008. Pole-Position Magazine, media partner in the series, also gave two special awards. The first one was given to legendary driver John Buffum, from Vermont, for his record 43 wins in the Canadian championship. The second Pole-Position Magazine Special award was given to Baie-des-Chaleurs North-American Rally for the excellence of its organization.

This celebration weekend put an end to the 50th season of the CRC. The 2007 season starts on February 3, 2007, when it will present the Rallye Perce-Neige Maniwaki, in western Québec. For more information on rallying and rally events, please visit the Canadian Association of Rallysport’s website, at

- 30 -

CARS Press Release Index
RRN Index