Press Release

Contact: Terry Epp
Canadian Association of RallySport
Tel: 905-640-6444
  Date: January 30, 2007


Rallye Perce-Neige Maniwaki - The New Season Gets Underway This Coming Saturday!

Stouffville, Ontario – The Canadian Rally Championship 50th Anniversary Celebration is just about over and the new season gets underway this Saturday in Maniwaki.

Rallye Perce-Neige Maniwaki is part of the history of rallying in North America. With the years, the rally has become a must among those competitors vying for victories and titles. Also known as the White Adventure, Rallye Perce-Neige Maniwaki shouldn’t be any different this year as the roads of Haute-Gatineau and particularly those in Forêt des Aigles and around Maniwaki will be the playground of more than 40 rally teams.

Among the top contenders are two Québec teams. Actual overall Canadian champion, Antoine L’Estage from Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, is back for more. With co-driver Nathalie Richard, Antoine will again be driving a Hyundai Tiburon 4WD, prepared by John Buffum. But the L’Estage/Richard team will not be the only one seeking fame and honors. Coming back to the championship, in a Subaru that helped Peter Thomson win the championship in 2005, Sylvain Erickson and daughter Chloé, from Gatineau (QC), have the firm intention of being first to win the Perce-Neige Maniwaki for the third time, as well as the championship at the end of this season.

For the first time in Canada, spectators will have a chance to watch American Champion and legend of the X-Games Travis Pastrana. Driving an Impreza WRX prepared by Team Subaru USA, Pastrana will be co-driven by Swede Christian Edström. So this year’s Perce-Neige will offer motorsports fans two North-American champions for free!

Other contending teams are Americans Matt Iorio and Ole Holter (Subaru Impreza WRX), Canadian Andrew Comrie-Picard and American co-driver Marc Goldfarb (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo) who will also take a shot at victory in this 42nd edition of Rallye Perce-Neige Maniwaki.

Montrealer Jean-Paul Pérusse (champion in 1975 and 1976) will also be part of the top teams, with co-driver Marcel-Paul Raymond in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6. Newcomers to watch this year will be David Legault co-driven by Pat Lavigne in Erickson’s ex-Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 4, and Québec champions Yohan Tessier/François Morin in a Volkswagen Golf.

Rallye Perce-Neige Maniwaki will start at 9:30 AM, this coming Saturday, February 3. With 357 km on icy roads, including nearly 200 km in special stages, rallyists are expected to be back in Maniwaki around 10:30 PM.

The official event program is available in Pole-Position Magazine, presently on newsstands. Filming for TV is provided by ATV Productions. For more information on the Canadian Rally Championship and rally events, please visit

- 30 -

CARS Press Release Index
RRN Index