Press Release

Contact: Terry Epp
Canadian Association of RallySport
Tel: 905-640-6444
  Date: May 27, 2007


Rocky Mountain Rally Results - Antoine L’Estage Wins Rocky!

Calgary, Alberta – The second round of the Canadian Rally Championship, presented by Subaru and Castrol, was held this weekend in Calgary and the Porcupine Hills, and was won by Antoine L’Estage and Nathalie Richard, from Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (QC), in their Hyundai Tiburon AWD.

Right from the start of the rally, run mostly on dry dirt and gravel roads, but lined with patches of snow when high in the mountains, Antoine L’Estage, ruling Canadian champion, made it clear to everyone about his intentions. On the third special stage on Friday night, he took the lead from Andrew Comrie-Picard and kept on adding to it.

Finishing second, 2 minutes 9 seconds behind, Andrew Comrie-Picard (Toronto, ON) and Brian Maxwell (Port Hope, ON), in their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9, led the first two stages. With his win at Perce-Neige and this second place in Calgary, Andrew Comrie-Picard continues to lead the Drive to the Castrol Cup, with 39 points.

Local hero Gord Olsen (Calgary, AB) and Todd Patola (Port Alberni, BC), in a Subaru Impreza WRX prepared by Canadian and North-American ex-champion Pat Richard, completed the podium. It was Olsen’s first national rally in a 4WD car. Next were Peter Reilly and Ray Felice in a 4WD VW Golf, followed by Zbigniew Szewczyk and Tomasz Karzynski, from Calgary (AB), in a Mitsubishi Lancer Ralliart.

Sixth overall and first in Group 2 went to Aaron Neumann/Graham Coates in a Honda Civic after a hard-fought battle with long-time rival Colin Armstrong/Ryan Warrington in a VW Golf. Tenth overall and winner of Production 3 was Canadian ex-champion in Production class Jorge Dascollas, with co-driver son Chris, in a Toyota Celica.

After winning two stages and fighting with L’Estage and Comrie-Picard for victory, Sylvain Erickson and daughter Chloé, from Gatineau (QC), had to retire after breaking the front differential of their Subaru Impreza WRX.

Finally, 29 teams finished out of 36 starters. The next round of the Canadian Rally Championship will take place in New-Richmond (QC) on June 29 and 30 with the presentation of the North-American Baie-des-Chaleurs Rally. Filming for TV is provided by ATV Productions. For more information on the Canadian Rally Championship and rally events, please visit

Rocky Mountain Rally Final Results (complete results at

  1. Antoine L’Estage – Nathalie Richard (Hyundai Tiburon 4WD) – 1h38’23
  2. Andrew Comrie-Picard – Brian Maxwell (Mitsubishi Lancer Évo.9) – 1h40’32
  3. Gord Olsen – Todd Patola (Subaru Impreza WRX) – 1h47’50
  4. Peter Reilly – Ray Felice (Volkswagen Golf 4WD) – 1h50’53
  5. Zbigniew Szewczyk – Tomasz Karzynski (Mitsubishi Lancer Ralliart) – 1h52’30
  6. Aaron Neumann – Graham Coates (Honda Civic) – 1h53’50
  7. Colin Armstrong – Ryan Warrington (Volkswagen Golf) – 1h55’45
  8. Martin Chung – Christa Monasch (Subaru Impreza WRX) – 1h57’18
  9. Eric Grochowski – Leanne Junnila (Volkswagen Golf) – 1h59’45
  10. Jorge Dascollas – Chris Dascollas (Toyota Celica P3) – 2h01’27

- 30 -

CARS Press Release Index
RRN Index