Press Release

Date: October 29, 2000
Contact: Terry Epp
Phone: 905-640-6444
David Hatter
Phone: 613-231-3248


LA MALBAIE, QUE. -- Reduced to two short stages due to horrendous weather conditions, the third and final leg of Rallye international de Charlevoix confirmed yesterday's results and Tom McGeer's victory over Belgian drivers François Duval and Bob Colsoul.

With more than 25 cm (10 inches) of snow since last night, the look and feel of the special stages had changed considerably and the leaders didn't take any chances to jeopardize their positions. Canadian driver Tom McGeer, co-driven by American Mark Williams, has won the 14th edition of Rallye international de Charlevoix, after taking the lead right at the second stage. This second victory in Charlevoix (he won in 1998), gives Tom McGeer, Mark Williams and Subaru/TNT Racing the title of Canadian Rally Champions for 2000.

Close behind him were two young Belgian drivers, François Duval and Bob Colsoul, in Mitsubishi Evo 5 Lancers, who managed to successfully adapt to the numerous weather changes in this truly unique event. Indeed, it was the first time that it snowed on Rallye de Charlevoix. Showing in fourth position, in Production GT (reserved for slightly modified street cars), is Canadian Patrick Richard, keeping alive his chances of winning the class at the next and final event, Tall Pines Rally, to be run in Peterborough, Ontario, next month.

Americans Seamus Burke, also in a Mitsubishi Lancer, who ran a very regular rally, even winning one of the two morning stages on Sunday, and Brian Scott round up the top 6..

Coming back from 33rd position where he had dropped during the second stage, Yves Barbe is the first Québec driver, showing in 8th overall. This is the first time that there is no Québec driver in the top 5. Victim of mechanical problems on Friday, Barbe had lost all hopes of victory. As a ressult, his comeback into the top 10 only has more value. Finally an outstanding performance must be mentioned : that of rookie Pierre Bazinet, in a Subaru Impreza RS, who was running his very first event as driver and finished 10th!

In summary, a total of 23 teams, out of 64 entered, made it to the finish line. Despite the weather, Rallye international de Charlevoix 2000 has been a tremendous success and the process for a round in World Rally Championship goes on. In 2001, Rallye international de Charlevoix will take place on October 26, 27 and 28.

FINAL RESULTS (10 first positions) :

  1) Tom McGeer - Mark Williams (CDN)(Subaru Impreza WRX) 2h14:03.4
  2) François Duval - Bruno Brissart (BEL)(Mitsubishi Lancer Évolution 5)2h16:33.6
  3) Bob Colsoul - Tom Colsoul (BEL)(Mitsubishi Lancer Évolution 5) 2h20:00.0
  4) Patrick Richard - Nathalie Richard (CDN)(Subaru Impreza RS) 2h21:06.3
  5) Seamus Burke - Frank Cunningham (USA)(Mitsubishi Lancer Ev.3) 2h21:44.1
  6) Brian Scott - David Watts (USA)(Eagle Talon TSi) 2h22:05.8
  7) Thomas Lawless - Brian Sharkey (USA)(Honda Civic Gr.2) 2h32:01.9
  8) Yves Barbe - Marcel Hébert (CDN)(Eagle Talon TSi) 2h36:10.5
  9) Andrew Havas - Éric Tremblay (USA)(Mazda RX-7) 2h38:04.5
10) Pierre Bazinet - Luc Piché (CDN)(Subaru Impreza RS) 2h39:46.5

For more information :
Press Service RIC (418) 665-3791 ext. 275 -

CARS Press Release Index
RRN Index