Press Release

June 21, 2010
  Contact: Ivan Orisek
Rally New York Ltd.
Phone: 845-794-4096

O'Brien and McCabe Win Rally New York Summer Rallysprint 2010

Forestburgh, New York — Daniel O'Brien and Brendan McCabe driving Subaru Impreza STi, runner-ups in the 2009 United States Rally Championship, won the Rally New York Summer Rallysprint 2010 this past Saturday.

The Rallysprint was the fifth round of the New York Rally Championship - Thunder 102 Cup, sponsored by Tearoff Guys ( and presented by Thunder 102 Rally Radio ( The event took place in beautiful summer weather on excellent roads on Ten Mile River Scout Reservation in Narrowsburg, New York and was enjoyed by all.

Summer Rallysprint is a short rally with a total length of just over 100 miles. The competitive mileage consists of 30 miles of special stages. The event was marked by close competition and no accidents, and ran on time all day. The only two DNFs were caused by mechanical failures. This one-day Rallysprint offers reconnaissance in the morning followed by competition that starts in late morning.

O'Brien and McCabe who won seven out of eight stages had worthy opponents in Martin O'Flynn and Bernie Obry in an eighteen year old Mitsubishi Eclipse who won one stage. After an outstanding performance, O'Flynn and Obry took second overall and first in PreMod All-Wheel-Drive. This capable team has been known to harass opposition in modern, powerful cars.

The third place overall was taken by Aidan McCormack in Mitsubishi Evo 6, who returned to competition after a hiatus of six years with a new codriver Fiona Smith.

Liam Mulvey and Bernard Farrell won Two-Wheel-Drive and placed fourth overall after an excellent performance in a vintage Mazda RX3. The second and third places in Two-Wheel-Drive were taken by the two fast teams of Mark Williams / Shane McCann in Ford Focus ZX3 and Al Kulpa / Adam Pelc in VW Golf GTI.

Donal McGivney and Seamus McKiernan in Subaru Impreza WRX won Production All-Wheel-Drive and took fifth overall.


  1. Daniel O'Brien / Brendan McCabe, Subaru Impreza STi, 1st AWD, 28:48.0
  2. Martin O'Flynn / Bernie Obry, Mitsubishi Eclipse, 1st Prod PreMod AWD, 30:43.0
  3. Aidan McCormack / Fiona Smith, Mitsubishi Evo 6, 2nd AWD, 31:16.0
  4. Liam Mulvey / Bernard Farrell, Mazda RX3, 1st 2WD, 32:05.0
  5. Donal McGivney / Fiona Smith, Subaru Impreza WRX, 1st Prod AWD, 32:06.0
  6. Mark Williams / Shane McCann, Ford Focus ZX3, 2nd 2WD, 32:26.0
  7. Martin Shekleton / Brian McNamara, Eagle Talon, 2nd Prod PreMod AWD, 32:59.0
  8. Andrew Wickline / Steve Kurey, Subaru Impreza WRX, 4th AWD, 33:26.0
  9. Al Kulpa / Adam Pelc, VW Golf GTI, 3rd 2WD, 34:55.0
  10. P.J. Reilly / John O'Reilly, Eagle Talon, DNF - clutch
  11. Mike Gillespie / Brian Kirby, DNF - engine failure
  12. Cyril Kearney / Mark McAlister, DNS
  13. Ivan Orisek / Olga Orisek, DNS

The next two rounds of the New York Rally Championship - Thunder 102 Cup will be take place in conjunction with the International Rally New York on September 10 - 11 and are organized by Rally New York, Ltd. (

Press Release Index
RRN Index