Press Release

September 14, 2011
  Contact: Ivan Orisek
Rally New York Ltd.
Phone: 845-794-4096

Johnson and Manago Win Rally New York Autumn Rallysprint 2011

Forestburgh, New York — Niall Johnson and Daniela Manago driving a Subaru Impreza won the Rally New York Autumn Rallysprint 2011 this past Saturday. The Rallysprint took place on the roads of Ten Mile River Scout Reservation in Narrowsburg. The event was a round of the New York Rally Championship - Thunder 102 Cup.

Autumn Rallysprint 2011 was a short rally with 50 miles of special stages and the total length of 86 miles. This one-day Rallysprint offers full reconnaissance in the morning followed by competition that starts in late morning. The roads were refurbished for the Rallysprint after the recent deluge that plagued the Northeast of the United States. These roads are being readied for the International Rally New York on October 22 - 23 that will be the final round of the 2011 United States Rally Championship.

A small but competent field ran a single stage two times in each direction and this was repeated again after the lunch break. Watching rally cars blasting down the long hill followed by a high-speed turn at the Aquehonga Spectator Area was a real treat for true rally enthusiasts.

Johnson and Manago in a Production All-Wheel-Drive car were in control and ran away from the rest of the field by three minutes after two fast cars McCormack / Kearney in an Open AWD Mitsubishi Evo and Gottlieb / Gager in an Open AWD Subaru Impreza WRX were sidelined with a drivetrain failure and a broken oil line respectively. Johnson and Manago improved with their excellent performance on their last year third place.

Richard Spaulding with Robert Mancini in an Open AWD Subaru Impreza and Ivan Orisek with Olga Orisek in a Production AWD Subaru Impreza WRX had a good fight trading seconds and recording identical times on two out of the eight stages. In the end, Orisek / Orisek came on the top by mere 6.6 seconds.

Sid Sareen and David Ulrich in the Broken Motorsports Ford Fiesta took honors in the Two-Wheel-Drive category.

The prize money went to Johnson / Manago and Sareen / Ulrich for winning their respective categories. In addition, Niall Johnson won the raffle by Midwest Sheet Metal and received a free entry for the International Rally New York in October.

The Autumn Rallysprint 2011 was the third round of the New York Rally Championship - Thunder 102 Cup, sponsored by Tearoff Guys ( and presented by Thunder 102 Rally Radio ( The event took place in beautiful weather and was enjoyed by all.

More information about the New York Rally Championship and other Rally New York events can be found at


  1. Niall Johnson / Daniela Manago, Subaru Impreza, 1st PAWD, 0:54:32.5
  2. Ivan Orisek / Olga Orisek, Subaru Impreza WRX, 2nd PAWD, 0:57:32.2
  3. Richard Spaulding / Robert Mancini, Subaru Impreza, 1st AWD, 0:57:38.8
  4. Siddharth Sareen / David Ulrich, Ford Fiesta, 1st P2WD, 1:02:40.0
  5. Hollen Groff / Tim Oliver, Audi 90, AWD, DNF
  6. Aidan McCormack / John Kearney, Mitsubishi Evo, AWD, DNF
  7. Matt Gottlieb / Austin Gager, Subaru Impreza WRX, AWD, DNF
  8. Danny O'Brien / Brendan McCabe, Subaru Impreza WRX, AWD, withdrawn
  9. William Doyle / TBA, BMW 325i, 2WD, withdrawn

Press Release Index
RRN Index